Emeritus Member | Raj Pruthi, MD

Member Emeritus

Dr. Raj Pruthi is a urologist who previously served as Professor and Chair of the UCSF Department of Urology and Professor and Inaugural Chair of the Department of Urology at the UNC, Chapel Hill. He is a physician-scientist with over 25 years’ experience in biomedical research – designing, executing, and leading clinical trials. Dr. Pruthi is a Senior Medical Director, Oncology and Acting Global Medical Affairs Lead TAR-210 Bladder Cancer Program at Johnson and Johnson Innovative Medicines. He is currently an Adjunct Professor, Department of Urology, Donald and Barbara Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell and

Dr. Pruthi graduated from Stanford University and Duke Medical School. He completed his residency/post-graduate training in Urologic Surgery at Stanford. He joined the Division of Urology at UNC in 2000 and in 2011 was appointed Division Chief. In July 2013, Dr. Pruthi became inaugural Chair of the newly-established Department of Urology at UNC. He was appointed Chair of the Department of Urology at UCSF in January 2020. At UCSF and UNC, he helped develop mentorship and wellness programs for faculty and trainees. Dr. Pruthi helped to increase the DEI focus for the Department of Urology at UCSF expanding opportunities for students, trainees, and faculty.
Dr. Pruthi specializes in Urologic Oncology, Robotic Surgery, and Clinical Trials. He is committed to compassionate, comprehensive, and innovative patient-centered care. He has been consistently selected Best Doctors in America. Dr. Pruthi is a recognized expert in robotic surgery for prostate and bladder cancer. He has focused on optimizing a patient’s surgical journey and integration of patient-reported outcomes to improve his patients’ experiences and recovery. Dr. Pruthi’s research is focused on surgical innovation, clinical trials, and quality of care. He has published over 240 peer-reviewed articles and  co-authored 10 textbook chapters, primarily in the area of bladder cancer.

He was a member of the ABU/AUA Examination Committee and has served as an examiner for the Certifying Exam for the ABU. He is currently President for the Society of Academic Urology. He is also the Chair of the Advisory Council for Urology of the ACS, and also on serves as on its Board of Governors.

He served on the Guidelines Committee and helped to develop the AUA Guidelines on the Management of Non-muscle Invasive Bladder Cancer and also served on the Bladder Cancer Guidelines Committee of the International Consultation on Urological Diseases.

He is an elected member of the Urologic Research Society, the Society of Pelvic Surgeons, the American Association of Genitourinary Surgeons, and the Clinical Society of Genitourinary Surgeons.